August 2015 Soap Challenge:

Opps – I guess THIS is my first blog post….

In August I participated in my first Soap Challenge Contest – put on by Amy Warden of Great Cakes Soapworks. There were 168 people that signed up and 71 that posted soaps to be judged by fellow soapers.

I made it all the way to 5th place! I was so excited, I really felt like I won the Lottery!!

I entered a Rosemary & Peppermint soap. The rest of the photos are the other batches of soap I made for the Challenge:

IMG_1232

Rosemary & Peppermint (2nd distill) Mantra Marbles Swirl

The Colors I used were: TKB (TKB Trading Co) #30 Red, Christmas Red: BB (Brambleberry) Electric Bubblegum & Merlot mica, Light green (leftovers), Christmas Green: BB Hydrated green & Chrome Oxide green, and Titanium Dioxide.

I used 2:1 of Rosemary and Peppermint (2nd distill) essential oils. The 2nd distill gives it a hint of candy cane fragrance.

Rosemary Peppermint Mantra Marble swirl (5th place in August 2015 Soap Challenge)

Rosemary Peppermint Mantra Marble swirl (5th place in August 2015 Soap Challenge)

Oatmeal Milk & Honey with Cinnamon Sugar soap:

IMG_1332

Oatmeal Milk & Honey with Cinnamon Sugar soap in Mantra Marbles Swirl

Colors are: BB 1982 Blue & Aqua mica, Green (leftovers), BB Fizzy Lemonade Yellow, BB Copper Sparkle Mica, & BB Cappuccino Mica; with some Copper Sparkle mica oil on top.

The fragrance is a combo of BB Oatmeal Milk & Honey Cybilla with Cinnamon Sugar fo at a 2:1 ratio.

IMG_1340

Oatmeal Milk & Honey with Cinnamon Sugar soap in Mantra Marbles Swirl

Lavender Litsea Peppermint essential oil soap:

IMG_1313

Lavender Litsea Peppermint soap in Mantra Marbles Swirl

This was the first batch I made. I used TKB The Fox Purple, BB Radiant Plum, BB Aqua, TKB Neon green and TD white.

Scents are: 2:2:1 of Lavender, Litsea, & Peppermint essential oils.

IMG_1291

Lavender Litsea Peppermint soap in Mantra Marbles Swirl

Orange Cranberry soap:

This is the only batch that I felt was a failure. One of the Cranberry scents I used was old, which I think caused the solid colored section to accelerate, so I was unable to swirl the colored side into the solid side. (The other scent used was 10X orange eo.) It smells great, just looks a bit wonky.

The Colors used were BB Radiant Plum, BB Coral Mica (with TKB #40), BB Tangerine wow, BB Green Chrome Oxide, and BB Fizzy Lemonade.

IMG_1317

Orange Cranberry soap in an attempted Mantra Marbles Swirl. The Cranberry fragrance accelerated so quickly, I could not do the swirl.

Thanks for reading my Blog!

Leave a Reply

