Gold Frankincense & Myrrh soap

This is the last Holiday CP soap I plan on making.

I used 1 oz of BB Amber FO and 2 oz of BB Frankincense & Myrrh Cybilla FO in a 3 lb mold.

My notes on Amber FO: discolors brown; 3.2% vanilla; moves quickly. Use alone or good base note; contains amber, vanilla, patchouli, sandalwood, & musk.

Notes on Frankincense & Myrrh Cybilla: discolors brown; 2% vanilla; amber & vanilla; scent lightens as it cures.

The planned soaps, colors, & FO’s:
12 oz natural (will discolor) with 1 oz FM; .5 oz Amber
8 oz yellow no fo
8 oz red no fo
8 oz orange no fo
12 oz natural (will discolor) with 1 oz FM; .5 oz Amber

I spilt up the main color and put all the FO’s in it; making up one half at a time. I poured the first half of natural with the FO into the mold, then did a Dandelion Zebra swirl alternating red, orange & yellows, using about half. In hindsight, I wish I would have used 3/4. By the time I finished the zebra swirl, the base had gotten very firm.

I then added the rest of the FO’s to my second half of natural soap and poured that on top, over a spoon, so the swirl would not be disturbed. I inserted a CP blue star tube mold sprinkled with BB Gold Sparkle mica. Then I did more of the Zebra swirl with the rest of the colors.

I wasn’t sure how the look with the star would turn out, as the blue is a light blue, and I had wanted a darker blue. I was originally going to go with a MP clear dark blue with glitter inside, which might have been better.

IMG_2803

Top after pour, with gold sparkle mica sprinkled on top

IMG_2839

Bottom & side after un-molding – before discoloring. You can see the blue star tube mold inside.

The gold sparkle mica around the star is barely visible…so I obviously needed more. Since I have never done this before I was unsure of how heavy to go with the mica, as I did not want the star to fall out of the soap either.

IMG_3127

IMG_3082

IMG_3131

IMG_3133

This looks okay with brown, but it would probably really pop with black…next year!

Leave a Reply

