POGY: Pineapple Orange Grapefruit Yuzu Pink Himalayan Salt Soap with negative impression mat

I few days of spring time weather really got my juices flowing. I just wanted to soap & soap & soap!! Sadly reality got in the way of most of my soaping ideas, but I did manage to make another batch of Pink Himalayan Salt Bars – I’ll call them POGY: Pineapple Orange Grapefruit and Yuzu.

IMG_5894

I think I’ve just been getting really lucky lately – this batch, just as the last one (see Feb 18, 2016 Blog) took forever to set up. BUT I AM NOT COMPLAINING!! I just stick blended them a little more and patiently waited till they were ready to pour.

I used almost same recipe as before, but with a 1.5 oz water discount to off set the water in the LabColors:

Recipe: (50 oz oils; 74oz/ 4.6 lbs – plus salt)
10%         Apricot Kernel Oil          5 oz        142 grams
2.5%       Castor Oil                      2.5 oz          71 grams
70%        Coconut Oil                    35 oz        992 grams
10%         Palm Oil                           5 oz        142 grams
2.5%        Refined Shea Butter   2.5 oz         71  grams
10% SF    Lye                               7.47 oz        212 grams
1.5oz disc Water & Aloe  2:1       15 oz        425 grams
PH Salt for brine                           1.2 oz          34 grams
Oat Extract                                       .5 oz          14 grams (IN OILS)
Fine Pink Himalayan Salt              20 oz  –  by volume (about 27 oz by weight)

I did a couple different things this time:

I used the flower negative impression mat in both my 9-bar and 6 bar molds.

I tried the Sole Seife technique – Brine soap from the Soap Queen Blog on Feb 11, 2016; using the recommended lye & salt combo of 58% of the water. I first made sure all the lye was dissolved before adding the 1.2 oz of salt – but it still didn’t all dissolve.

I poured off 2 oz of batter and added a test sent to see what this soap will be like, but I think the minuscule amount of salt in the soap will make little to no difference in the feel. I suspect it will make a harder bar, but that’s what I use sodium lactate for. (Skip the Brine – I don’t see any point to it other than if you want to call your soap Sole Seife or Brine Soap.)

I split the batter into 4 containers of about 17 oz each and added colors and scents:
BB Lemon Yellow LabColor  with 1 oz BB Pineapple Cilantro
BB Orange LabColor with .5 oz BB 10X Orange eo & .75 oz BB Orange Valencia eo
BB Tulip LabColor with 1.5 oz NG Ruby Red Grapefruit
BB Apple Green LabColor with 1.5 oz BB Yuzu

I stick blended them a bit longer and then mixed in 5 oz (by volume; about 6.7 oz by weight) of Pink Himalayan salt into each container.

IMG_5850

Even with the Pink Himalayan salt in them, all the containers have beautiful, bright colors. The green was more of an Apple Green than the darker look in this photo. The Tulip red will morph to a dark pink.

IMG_5852

9-bar mold with dividers. The bottom has the negative impression mat on it, which is to become the top.

IMG_5856

6-bar mold – again with the impression mat on the bottom. I swirled the top of this one with a chop stick.

6-7 hours later I removed the soap from the 9-bar mold:

IMG_5860

Out of the 9-bar mold with the impression mat still on.

IMG_5862

The impression mat pealed off.

IMG_5864

Dividers removed.

The colors will fade a bit, due to the salt and LabColors.

I purposely used less green on the impression mat of the 9-bar mold, as I wanted the other colors to stand out more. (For the 6-bar mold I did the opposite.)

I love how the colors are so vibrant and smooth – on what was going to be the bottom, but looks nice enough for the top. I must have forgotten to stir the containers on my last pour, so that the colors are not muted by the salt. The Tulip color has turned to a lovely deep pink.

IMG_5866

The bottom side? The colors are very bright & shiny.

18 hours after soaping, I un-molded and cut the soap from the 6-bar mold. It was still a little soft, and the edges did tear a bit.

Out of the mold with the impression mat still on (left) and pealed off (right):

The colors and design remind me of Sherbet ice-cream and Autumn foliage. And the scent is amazing!

IMG_5871

Fresh Cut Soap

 

10 days later the colors on the impression mat side have softened and lightened to a more pastel look, while the bottom colors have morphed but are still bright:

IMG_5896

Top & bottom of bars – which side to display?

IMG_5880

These have been steamed twice, but the salty ash will come back a bit.

The ones with more green are from the 6-bar mold and the ones with more pink are from the 9-bar mold.

I like using impression mats on the salt soap and shampoo bars. There is usually not enough time to do a complicated design, so this assures a nice looking side. (Especially with the shampoo bars that set up really quickly.)

 

Additional Resources:

Check out more Salt Bars on the links below:
Unscented Pink Himalayan & Dead Sea Salt Soap – with Clay & Plant Colorants, embeds on top, negative impression mat on bottom
Pink Himalayan Salt Test Soap Batch with Tamanu & Neem Oils
Eucalyptus Mint Tree with Neem Oil & tiny embeds
Grapefruit, Kumquat & Lime with tiny embeds
2 Batches: Unscented and Lavender, Moroccan Mint, Tea Tree, Ylang Ylang, Clary Sage & Black Tea Blend
Orange Lemongrass Patchouli & Unscented
Lemongrass, Lavender, Rosemary, Peppermint
Peach Mango Kumquat with Aloe & Coconut water

For Salt Bar Recipes, click on the links below:
Salt Master Batch Oils #1
Salt Master Batch Oils #2 (“Everything But the Kitchen Sink”)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “POGY: Pineapple Orange Grapefruit Yuzu Pink Himalayan Salt Soap with negative impression mat

  1. michelle says:

    I am curious where to get the impression mats.

    Like

    • soapsbysly says:

      Michelle:
      I got this Wilton negative impression mat from Amazon – they have a lot to choose from. I have also seen the Wilton mats at Micheal’s Craft store and ones that fit log molds at Hobby Lobby Craft Store. (I used one for a log mold very successfully in my Dec 14, 2015 blog).

      I really like the Peacock positive impression mat from Cool Tools – it’s a mega-mat, but still very small (it only fits in my 6-bar mold.) Their mats are for jewelry making, but the big designs will work for soaping (most are too fine for soap to get into the crevices.) And I found this mat doesn’t work for salt bars, as they have to be un-molded so quickly. (See Feb 18, 2016 blog for my unsuccessful salt bar attempt and Feb 1, 2016 for a successful soap)

      Sly

      Like

Leave a Reply

