Summer Melon Spritzer in drop & hanger swirls

IMG_6739

I hadn’t done any soaping for a month – sometimes everything else in life just gets in the way of the fun stuff!

I was looking for an uplifting, spring-summer look & feel (smell) and wanted to do something that was comfortable & easy too. So I settled on a drop swirl, followed by a horizontal & vertical hanger swirl. I used Bramble Berry’s Summer Melon Spritzer FO. I had soaped with this scent twice before, but it had been a good two years since I last tried it.

Here is the description of the scent: Cantaloupes, Watermelons and Canary Melons come together in this fragrance for a sweet, summery delight. Supporting top notes of Japanese Grapefruit, Crisp Apple and Pomelo bring a bright and cheery melding to the bottom note of Tonka Bean. The secret ingredient to this fragrance is Tonic Water (thus the ‘spritzer’).

I had just enough left of Master Batch Oil #2 for a 3 lb loaf. I used 3 oz of FO.

Batter & Colors:
20 oz CC Yellow locking mica & BB Fizzy Lemonade Yellow
8 oz BB Tangerine Orange
8 oz TKB #30 True Red
8 oz BB LabColor Apple Green
8 oz TD White (no fo)

After bringing the soap to a very light trace, I mixed in my colors & fragrance. The batter was a little on the thin side, so I gave it about 10 minutes to thicken on it’s own until it was ready to pour.

I used the yellow as the base, and drop swirled the other colors into it, followed by the hanger swirls. Interestingly, as I was adding some soap on top for a bit of a swirl, the batter seemed to reverse trace, getting thinner and watery.

IMG_6697

Top of soap after swirling

After un-molding and cutting I was surprised that the yellow didn’t take over – being the base color I was actually worried it might be too much. The orange & red seem most predominate, even though there are equal amounts of green & white.

IMG_6736

The red background in these photos really make the yellow pop:

IMG_6747

 

The Tangerine Orange looks pink in some of the soaps, and orange in others. It will be interesting to see how it develops with the curing:

I was surprised that the Summer Melon Spritzer FO smelled so flowery for the first week, with the melon scent being very faint. I checked my notes and discovered the last time I used this fragrance I soaped it 1:1 with Southern Peach – and used 3.7 oz in 3.25 lb batter.

Fortunately, the floral smell has dissipated, and the melon is now predominate. But with 3 oz of scent, it is still a very mild fragrance.

I am please with the fun colors & swirls in this soap.

 

An Aside:

One reviewer of this FO had recommended adding a touch of lemon. I tried some Electric Lemonade Cocktail in a couple samples:

I also met someone from Hawaii and her favorite scent combo was Plumeria with Pineapple, so I tested some soaps with that combo:

I thought that the Pineapple would overpower the Plumeria, as I had added a lot, but it seems to have disappeared, although it made the Plumeria less floral smelling.

It is very nice, in spite of not picking up the pineapple scent. However, it’s only been a week, so things may change.

 

2 comments on “Summer Melon Spritzer in drop & hanger swirls

  1. April says:

    These are beautiful Sly ❤ I love the colors and swirls!

    Are you joining the challenge this month? I think I am 😉 I need to redeem my challenge skills after my miserable fails from last month!

    Like

    • soapsbysly says:

      April:
      Thank you so much!
      I signed up for the May challenge yesterday and am looking forward to trying the new technique. I’ve watched the videos and it looks like fun – with lots of potential outcomes too!
      I hope you join.
      Sly

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

