Watermelon Cucumber Soap with Coconut Water

IMG_6806

I’m still on a spring-summer fling with my soaping and wanted to try a Cucumber Melon scent I just got from Bramble Berry. I had used the Cucumber Melon Cybilla FO in the past – too much cucumber for me (in soap), but it worked great in foot balm.

The Cucumber Melon FO was described as more Watermelon than Cucumber, which sounded great to me. Here’s the info on it: No D. Behaves beautiful; juicy and ripe, not too sweet. This blend is more melon than cucumber and smells pink and fresh.

I found it to be a very mild watermelon scent – but not the sickly sweet candy scent usually found with watermelon. This is like the real fruit – very fresh smelling – with a touch of cucumber.

I utilized my new Master Batch Oils #3 recipe (See April 29, 2016 Blog).

72 oz of soap:
50 oz/ 1417 grams Oils
7.1 oz / 201 grams Lye (5% SF)
15 oz/ 425 grams Coconut Water (frozen) (1.5 oz disc)
14 grams Sodium Lactate

I used frozen Coconut water in place of distilled and poured off 20 oz of soap for another project. I have used a variety of different liquids in soap (beer, wine, coconut milk, goat milk, etc.) but had not tried coconut water. I poured it into a 1 gallon freezer bag, then laid it flat in the freezer, to get a nice thin sheet of ice that easily broke up and blended with the lye.

Here’s what I have found out about Coconut Water: It has B-complex vitamins such as riboflavin, niacin, thiamin, pyridoxine, and folate to help nourish and hydrate skin and hair. It also contains minerals like calcium, iron, manganese, magnesium, and zinc. The lauric acid gives cold process soap extra hardness and promotes a luxuriously fluffy lather. Research studies suggest that cytokinins (e.g., kinetin and trans-zeatin) in coconut water are found to have significant anti-ageing and anti-carcinogenic effects.

I got started a bit late, and only froze the water for 4 hours. It was not as hard as I would have preferred, but I pressed on, weighing out 15 oz and adding lye. The lye water turned a dark orange and got up to 100 degrees – warmer than I had wanted, hence the discoloring. I added more TD than usual to compensate – just in case the orange would not dissipate. But it did not seem to cause any issues with my color pallet.

Batter & Colors:
18 oz – BB LabColor Apple Green
8 oz – TKB #30 True Red
8 oz – BB Fired up Fuchsia Pink with TD
8 oz – CC Neon Purple Play Date with TD
10 oz – TD White (no fo)

IMG_6705

Top of Soap Loaf (in Taiwan swirl)

This scent seemed so light that I used 3.2 oz for a 3 lb mold, with a drop swirl of colors into the main batter of apple green, followed by a vertical hanger swirl. In hind sight, I should have done more passes of the vertical swirl, as the two swirls seemed to have just split the soap in half. I do like how it pulled the green into the middle of the bar though.

IMG_6840

I have found that mixing the colors in hot oil prevents spots – especially in the titanium dioxide. Everything was initially mixed in hot oils, but they were all cool before I had a chance to use them. Because of the extra TD I added, I got lots of TD spots throughout the bars. I should have stopped and reheated my colors, which may have prevented some of this.

I love the little red heart that appeared in several bars

 

I had a little bit of soap leftover, and I added Lime FO to it in a 1:2 mix of cucumber melon to lime, then put into sample/guest size molds.

I really like the added scent of lime to the mix.

7 comments on “Watermelon Cucumber Soap with Coconut Water

  1. jose467 says:

    Great post! How did it turn the coconut water soap? I saw you tried very different types of liquids, what were the results?

    Like

    • soapsbysly says:

      Hi Jose:
      If you look at the photos on the Watermelon Cucumber soap, I think you can see how well it turned out. I thought it was great!
      The only time I’ve had trouble with the coconut water soap, is when I let it gel, in the May 30, 2016 Blog (can see here) – I got some overheating and cracking.
      The best way to treat the coconut water soap, is to treat it like wine, beer, or milk soaps – freeze the liquid and don’t gel (I put it in the refrigerator or freezer to prevent gel.)
      Sly

      Like

      • jose467 says:

        By how it turned I mean, was it different from a soap without coconut water when you used the soap? Was the feeling when using it different? I was reserching information about different liquids to add to lye but I found very little, speacilly specific benefits about it. Thanks a lot for your attention!

        Like

      • soapsbysly says:

        Jose:
        It was a very nice soap to use – I don’t think it felt any different than a home-made soap using water. (When using milks in soaps, they feel creamier to me). With beer, wine, or coconut water soaps, it’s more of the “healing properties” that they are supposed to bring to your skin, rather than and difference in the feel of it.

        I have been using home-made soaps for over 30 years (only making them myself for the last 5 years), so I’ve forgotten how mass-produced store-bought soaps feel in comparison….I just remember how nice home-made soaps made my skin feel years ago, which is why I have been using them for so long.

        If you are a soaper, I recommend you make all different kinds and do your own tests on what feels good to you. In several of my blogs, have summarized a lot of various information that I have found on the internet from numerous other web sites, so I know there is a lot of guidance out there. Also, check out the extensive blogs on soap at SoapQueen.com – she has a lot of knowledge too.
        Sly

        Like

      • jose467 says:

        Thanks a lot for the tips! I am a beginner soaper. I was thinking to add a different liquid instead of water. But then, it adds one more step, to prepare the liquid, to freeze it… Lye is pretty harsh, I wonder if any of the benefits of those liquids remain afterwards. When I said different feeling, it was comparing with a home-made soap with the same recipe but instead of water, used some other liquid, and made the soap somehow feel different on the skin, or lasted longer, or other benefit.

        Like

      • soapsbysly says:

        Jose:
        As a beginner soaper, I really recommend you try all different liquids – eventually – as well as salt soap. (I do have personal experience, as well as many comments from others using my Pink Himalayan Salt bars that they really are a miracle worker with skin issues: getting rid of hives, psoriasis, eczema, dry & flaky skin, etc.)

        Good Luck & Happy Soaping!
        Sly

        Like

  2. jose467 says:

    Well, actually I am working on salt bars right now. I will take a look at your blog more. Thanks a lot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

