Black Raspberry Vanilla with Heart Embed & Jojoba beads in Vertical Mold

This was a straight forward Vertical Mold soap, which I hadn’t made in ages: 1/2 white soap, with purple jojoba beads and a purple heart; 1/2 purple soap with purple jojoba beads.

IMG_7761

Next time I will either skip the jojoba beads in the purple, as they seemed too similar in color to show up, or really go for it. (I put a few in, then gave it up, but as it cured the color lighted and you can now see them). I thought of adding white jojoba beads in the purple, but the ones I have are so tiny I was afraid it would look like the soap was going bad.

Batter & Colors: Use 60 oz; 4.15 oz FO (could have used more FO, as it is light)
28 oz TD (plus purple tube heart 4.5 oz)
32 oz Purple
Purple & Jasmine colored Jojoba Beads

I used 3.1 oz of Natures Garden FO & 1.05 oz of Bramble Berry FO. I did a combo of these, as I was finishing the NG and just opening a new bottle of BB. I actually prefer the BB scent – it smells richer & more complex to me.

Description of scents:

  • NG: an enticing blend of blackberries and raspberries, with middle notes of white floral greenery, and bottom notes of musk and vanilla.
  • BB: Black Raspberry Vanilla is multi-layered with decadent fruity notes to create a sublime scent. Fresh, vine-ripened raspberries and blackberry notes are mixed with Italian bergamot, California Bartlett pear and softened with notes of plum wine, vanilla orchid and a silky, cashmere musk. Overall, it’s sweet, silky and mouth-watering.

I have had a lot of issues with my vertical mold in the past. It is lined with heavy, plastic sides, but over the years, they seemed to have gotten a little roughed up and are impossible to slide the soap off of, even when liberally sprayed with Cyclomethicone. So now I just line the liners, with freezer paper and it works great for removing the soap. (An extra step, but easily done.)

I made a purple heart with a tube mold a week ago, specifically for this project. The heart was shorter than the vertical mold, so I swirled the top, in what will become the last bar:

IMG_7581

 

The Cut:

IMG_7757

I don’t know why I did not get a straight line between the colors (I always have in the past), but I really like the waviness and I think it adds something unique to each bar. I’m thrilled that the heart is the exact same color as the purple base and I like the interest the jojoba beads add to the white.

I’m very pleased with everything about this soap – the design and the scent.

 

An Aside:

I had enough leftover Black Raspberry Vanilla batter to make 2 Large Victorian Hearts.

I also continued with my testing of scents and made a Pineapple Peach (Southern Peach & Pineapple Cilantro) in a Victorian Heart and a guest size round Passionfruit Papaya soap. (Plus some limes for a future soap).

Clockwise: 2 Black Raspberry Vanilla, Passionfruit Papaya, and Pineapple Peach.

Leave a Reply

