Peach Mango Kumquat Pink Himalayan Salt Bars with Aloe & Coconut waters in negative impression mat

Time to make some Pink Himalayan salt bars! (See March 9, 2016, February 18, 2016, and Nov 1, 2015 Blogs for more salt bar recipes.) I seem to be improving my methods with each batch.

But what’s so great about salt bars? And why specifically use Pink Himalayan salt, which is so much more expensive than other salts? Because for me, I have found it to be a miracle worker. Everyone that had skin issues (psoriasis, dry skin, hives, rash, etc.) and washed with PH Salt bars have had their issues disappear. Coincidence? Don’t know, but I have only had positive feedback. (It was a miracle worker for me too – washing with it only once, to getting rid of hives I had on my forehead for 3 days).

Pink Himalayan Salt Bars combine the cleansing, exfoliating and detoxifying qualities of a salt bath with handmade natural soap. They blend the best of both natural soap and a sea salt bath. Sea salts are said to draw toxins out of the body, which will naturally lead to feeling refreshed. They also cleanse & detoxify the face and body, and are relaxing to your skin & muscles. Many people love the way they make your skin feel.

Himalayan Pink Salt is a pure, hand-mined salt that is derived from ancient sea salt deposits, and it is believed to be the purest form of salt available. It is used by holistic chefs, spas, health professionals, and individuals for its range of nutritional and therapeutic properties. Externally, pink salt is said to be used to stimulate circulation, relax the body, lower blood pressure, sooth sore muscles, and remove toxins from the body. This salt has a rich mineral content that includes over 84 minerals and trace elements such as: calcium, magnesium, potassium, copper and iron. It can also assist with relief from arthritis, skin rashes, psoriasis, herpes, and flu and fever symptoms.

IMG_8151

At 4:30 am I started heating my bucket of Pink Himalayan Master batch oils #1 (for recipe, see April 29, 2016 Blog). They took until 11:00am to warm up, due to the high content of Coconut oil.

I used 50 oz oils, which made 72 oz/4.5 lbs soap. In addition to that, I added 20 oz (by volume; 28 oz by weight) of Pink Himalayan Salt. For my 15 oz of liquid, I combined 9 oz of frozen Coconut water and 6 oz of Aloe juice. The lye water got to 158 degrees, I let it cool to 120 before soaping with 100 degree oils.

I was surprised at how brown the Lye-Aloe-Coconut water got and how foamy it was:

(On the left is the lye-liquid just after stirring; on the right 30 seconds
later, as it settled with the foam layer on top.)

I had my 9-bar & 6 bar slab molds ready to go, with
negative impression mats on the bottom:

 

My work station is prepped for soaping:
Photo on left: LabColors on top, in front of the containers they go in;
Pink Himalayan Salt all measure for each cup;
28 oz containers to pour the soap in;
colored spatulas for each cup.
Photo on right: Measuring cup with fragrance; stick blender;
strainer (for lye-liquid); lye mixture in sink; temperature
gauge, spatula, & oils in orange bowl:

I ended up switching out the 28 oz soap containers with 32 oz size Anchor Pyrex cups, so I had just a bit more room for mixing the batter & salt.

With the Himalayan salt added, I have 5.6 lbs of soap and I used 5.6 oz of FO in a 1:1:2 ratio of Southern Peach, Mango, and Kumquat: Peach 1.4 oz, Mango 1.4 oz, & Kumquat 2.8 oz.

Batter & Colors: Split evenly into 4 containers:
Lemon Yellow LabColor
Orange LabColor
Tulip LabColor
Apple Green LabColor

Plus:
A total of 20 oz PH Salt (by volume/28 oz by weight) – 5 oz for each container (by volume/ 7 oz by weight).

After stick blending the lye-liquids & oils, I added the FO’s and then divided them evenly and added my LabColors.

I drizzled some of the soap into both molds first – as the bottom will become
the top (the top is smoother looking without the salt):

I then mixed in the Pink Himalayan salt and alternated the pour into the molds.

9-bar mold: on left before swirling, on right after swirling:

 

On left, 9-bar mold with dividers inserted; on right 6-bar mold with swirls on top:

After 6 hours of gelling, (wrapped in towels with no extra heat added), I unmolded and cut the 6-bar mold. I also unmolded the 9-bar mold, but didn’t remove the dividers until the next morning. The soap was so hard, that it was difficult to slide and pry them off the dividers, and the sides were very rough because of this. (The dividers need to be removed earlier.)

6-bar mold: before & after cutting:

9-bar mold top & bottom with dividers in:

 

The Cut:
The colors changed quite a bit, as the LabColors morphed to it’s true colors.

IMG_8148

IMG_8152

The scent combo is very, very light and green smelling. The Peach & Kumquat did not come through much at all. I’m not sure why, as the BB Kumquat is usually very fragrant. I am using a new bottle of BB Southern Peach and it seems to fade quite a bit more than the old one.

 

An Aside:

Since these Master Batch Oils took so long to heat up, I poured off 50 oz for another batch and put it in the fridge. Then I divided the remaining 300+ oz into 3 – 1 gallon jugs; labeled, and put them in the freezer for a longer shelf life:

IMG_7719

It will be so much easier to defrost and heat the oils when needed.

2 comments on “Peach Mango Kumquat Pink Himalayan Salt Bars with Aloe & Coconut waters in negative impression mat

  1. Interesting comments on salt soaps! I too only use no more than 50% of salt in my recipes. I tries a 1:1 salt:oil ratio, but it was definitely too much in my opinion. I will try Himalayan salt next time, I had always used standard salt, it will look much better with Himalayan salt!

    Like

  2. soapsbysly says:

    Madame Propre:
    Thank you for the input.
    Himalayan Salt is more expensive, but definitely worth it.
    Let me know how your salt bars turn out.
    I hope you enjoy the soap.
    Sly

    Like

Leave a Reply

