OMH Buttermilk Soap with Colloidal Oatmeal in Hanger Swirl

I’ve never made Buttermilk soap or used Colloidal Oatmeal. I wanted to make some Oatmeal, Milk, & Honey scented soap and this seemed like a good reason to try both.

img_9979

Here is the description of my scents:

  • BB Oatmeal, Milk, & Honey: A Sweet and toasty melding of three fabulous scents. Discolors dark tan. 2.5% Vanilla. (Reviews say it smells like cookie dough, with hints of almond & honey. Accelerates and discolors greenish-brown.)
  • BB Oatmeal, Milk, & Honey Cybilla: Warm oatmeal flavored with creamy milk and honey. Discolors to a creamy beige. 1% Vanilla.
  • NG (Natures Garden) Caramel: A buttery, toffee caramel aroma. Discolors dark tan; No A or R. 2.6% Vanilla.

I reconstituted some powdered Buttermilk, put 18 oz in a gallon freezer bag, laid it on a small cookie sheet and froze it the night before. I was surprised that it was so white when I mixed it up, but the next morning it was a creamy yellow color.

Master Batch oils #4:
80 oz soap (55 oz oils)
Oils: 55 oz/  1559 grams
Lye: 7.81 oz/ 221 grams
Frozen Buttermilk (.35 oz disc): 17.85 oz/  506 grams
Sodium Lactate: 16 grams

I had planned to discount my liquid, but that would leave me with less than 2 oz of Buttermilk, so I went ahead and used it all. (Even though I put 18 oz in the bag, there was .15 oz lost from residual in the bag.) The Buttermilk was in a nice 1/4 inch thick sheet, that I easily broke up into pieces.

The Plan:

Pour off 26 oz for embeds (future projects) and to test other scents.

Use 54 oz in a 3 lb silicone mold: Three colored layers with Colloidal oatmeal in the top & bottom layers; hanger swirl then top with oats and put in fridge.

I disperse 2 teaspoons of Colloidal Oatmeal in 2 tablespoons (1 oz by volume) of sunflower seed oil. This was a bit of a guess as to the usage. I got the Colloidal Oatmeal from Bramble Berry – their recommended usage rate is up to 5% – which would be 2.7 oz in this batch. Another recommendation I read suggested 1 tablespoon per 2 lbs of soap, yet Soap Queen made a batch with only 1 teaspoon for a 3 lb batch. I was originally going to go with SQ, but it was such I tiny amount, I doubled it.

If anyone has worked with Colloidal Oatmeal, I would appreciate your comments on this.

Batter/ Colors/ Scents:
18 oz Dark brown (CC Brown Sparkle mica) & 1 oz OMH with half of the colloidal oatmeal
18 oz Natural (creamy yellow) & 1 oz OMH Cybilla
18 oz Light brown (CC Brown Sparkle mica) & 1 oz Caramel with half of the colloidal oatmeal

I added my lye to the frozen Buttermilk and it reached 96 degrees. When I was sure the lye was all dissolved, I mixed in Sodium Lactate, then I poured this over my stick blender (to help prevent bubbles) into 105 degree oils. (When using milks or beer, I pour the lye mixture through a strainer – just in case. Sadly, although my strainer was right in front of me, I forgot to use it this time.)

I separated and mixed up the colors and poured the dark brown first, because of the acceleration, but it never accelerated so it was a bit thin when I laid down the other colors on top. I didn’t mind some break-through, as I was going to do a hanger swirl anyway. (I did not get the greenish discolor either.)

I mistakenly did a horizontal hanger swirl – which is what I usually do with a drop swirl. However, with layers, a vertical swirl is needed to mix up the colors, but it still turned out lovely, with some nice swirls.

I added a little leftover dark brown and natural to the top and swirled it:

img_9756

Top

img_9762

Close Up

I liked the swirls so much I almost didn’t add the oatmeal, but I wanted to try something different. The good news is if the oats fall off, there is a nice looking design underneath.

img_9766

Topped with Oats

img_9770

Close Up

 

The Cut:

When I first cut these, there were 3 beautiful, distinct colors and the swirls inside were really lovely. As it started to cure, the browns got darker and there is very little difference between the light and dark browns:

img_9981

img_0004

img_9985

 

The bars look a little coarse, but I have used some soap scraps and the soap is very rich & luxurious feeling – like washing with milk, with a very creamy lather.

 

An Aside:

With my leftover batter I made some red and cranberry colored berries and tube hearts in ultraviolet blue and brown, for future projects. I also tested a new scent and some scent combos:

  • 4:2:1 BB Pumpkin & Brown Sugar (discolors brown); Vanilla Select; Cinnamon; in rectangular Celtic mold: brown & red, dusted in Gold Sparkle mica.
  • 4:3:1 BB Apple Sage; Peach; Tobacco Bay Leaf; in oval Celtic mold: white, red, blue & green with green jojoba beads, dusted in Snowflake Sparkle mica.
  • BB Christmas Spice (discolors brown) in square Celtic mold: white & green with green jojoba beads, red & blue accents; dusted in Gold Sparkle mica.

Clockwise: Pumpkin & Brown Sugar; Apple Sage Tobacco; Christmas Spice.

Leave a Reply

