Fresh Snow in Dandelion Zebra Swirl

I thought I’d start my winter/Christmas soaps with a scent called Fresh Snow. I haven’t done a new color design with a Zebra Swirl in ages.

img_0012

Fresh Snow in Dandelion Zebra Swirl

Here’s the Description of BB Fresh Snow: This fragrance is designed to mimic the feeling of peace and tranquility after a fresh snowfall. It is a very ozone-y fragrance, reminiscent of clean laundry or fresh cotton. The actual notes however are intriguing: a crisp heliotrope top with supporting notes of spring water, juniper berry, vetyver and sandalwood. No A, D, R.

The Plan:

Master batch #4 oils: 38 oz oils (54 oz soap) 3 lb silicone mold:
Oils: 38 oz/ 1077 grams
Lye 5% SF: 5.39 oz / 153 grams
Distilled Water: (1.54 oz disc): 11 oz / 312 grams
Sodium Lactate: 11 grams

Batter/Colors/ 3 oz FO:
36 oz TD White Base                                              2 oz FO
7 oz BB Neon Blue Raspberry (Turquoise)      .25 oz FO
7 oz BB Zippy Blue                                                25 oz FO
7 oz BB1982 Blue                                                 .25 oz FO
7 oz BB Ultramarine Blue                                   .25 oz FO

My lye-water and oils were both 105 degrees when I mixed them together. I stick-blended until emulsified, then separated into containers, adding all the blue colors, then the FO. (I did not mix in my Titanium Dioxide, as that thickens the batter.) I waited about 10 minutes until the batter set up to almost the thickness of light trace. I added the TD and poured about 1/3 of the batter into the mold.

I then used a divider and set it at an angle in the mold – pouring all colors down it 3 times, alternating dark & light blues: Ultramarine Blue, Zippy Blue, 1982 Blue, then Neon Raspberry Blue. I pulled out my divider, dusted on a dry silver mica line, then put more white down. But the batter was too thin to hold it and the mica line went wonky. I repeated my 4 blues three times again, (skipping the mica line), then finished with white.

I added some stripes of color and silver mica oil on top:

img_9785

Top with lines of color and silver mica oil

img_9789

Top after swirling

img_9793

Close up – looks like ocean waves

 

The Un-molding:

The top has a bit of ash:

img_9898

 

The Cut:

img_0018

 

img_0026

You can see some of the silver mica line between the blue pours

Next time I would like to try a hanger swirl through the Dandelion Zebra for a different effect.

 

Leftovers were poured into a Victorian Square mold and dusted with Snowflake Sparkle mica:

img_0305

Leave a Reply

