Blue Man in Hanger Swirl using 8 sections of color

img_1621

Here’s the description of Bramble Berry Blue Man Fragrance: This is a duplication of the popular men’s cologne, Aquilina Blue Sugar. The base note of Black Patchouli blends perfectly with Orange Peel, Sparkling Mandarin, Coriander Leaves, Star Anise and Venezuela Tonka. It’s surprisingly sweet and majorly masculine. Discolors dark brown with 4.9% vanilla content.

 

The Plan:
I had intended to do another Circling Taiwan Swirl, but this time in a 5 lb mold, using four sections with two colors in each. (Similar to the 3 lb batch I made previously in July 18, 2016 Blog).

Instead, I decided to do the detailed sections as planned, but with a horizontal hanger swirl. I looked at the Blue Man soaps I had done like that in the past and wanted to do it with eight sections, instead of the traditional four.

I’m glad I went this route, as with such a big batch, the batter didn’t stay as fluid as I had hoped. And I discovered that the large spouted containers I needed for this project are not as easy to pour into the skinny sections as the small ones.

Master batch #5 oils: 65 oz Oils (Makes 92 oz soap)
(Oct 10, 2016 Master Batch Oils Blog)
Oils: 65 oz/ 1843 grams
Lye 5% SF: 9.19 oz / 260 grams
Distilled Water: (3.45 oz disc): 18 oz / 510 grams
Sodium Lactate: 18 grams

Batter/Colors/4 oz FO/ each section:
Section 1:
11 oz Black (BB Activated Charcoal) with 1.25 oz FO
11 oz Dark Blue (BB Ultramarine Blue) with .75 oz FO & Vanilla Stabilizer
Section 2:
11 oz Light Blue (BB 1982 Blue Mica) with no FO
11 oz Med Blue (BB Zippy Blue) with no FO
Section 3:
11 oz Black (BB Activated Charcoal) with 1.25 oz FO
11 oz Dark Blue (BB Ultramarine Blue) with .75 oz FO & Vanilla Stabilizer
Section 4:
11 oz Med Blue (BB Zippy Blue) with no FO
11 oz TD white with no FO & .5 oz Vanilla Stab

Use Vanilla Stabilizer with the dark blue – if/when it fails, those sections of the soap with morph to dark green. Adding a bit of Stabilizer in the white will help prevent color bleed from the FO nearby.

Mixed 114 degree lye-water with 118 degree oils, poured into containers, colored, then added FO and Vanilla Stabilizer.

4 sections, pour each; then Hanger swirl horizontally.
Top with Silver & Blue Mica oils.

img_1354

Clockwise: Zippy Blue, 1982 Blue, TD (much whiter than in photo), Activated Charcoal, Ultramarine Blue. I used large containers for the black and two blues that were used twice in the pour.

img_1357

Two colors poured into each divided area – with some over spill.

After removing dividers, I topped off the colors, then used a large gear tie and did a horizontal hanger swirl.

img_1359

Removed dividers and topped off colors.

I added some leftover colors in a spatter pattern, along with silver and blue mica oils:

img_1361

Leftover colored batter, silver, and 1982 blue mica oils.

I liked this look and wanted to leave it as is, but there is something in my DNA that compels me to swirl, even when I don’t have an idea in my mind as to how to swirl it or what would look best – I just go for it:

img_1365

Loaf after swirling

img_1377

Close up of a portion of the swirled top.

I completely forgot to remove the tape on the sides that were holding the liner in place. Fortunately it didn’t do any damage, just left a gumminess on the sides of the liner.

 

The Un-molding:
Sometimes I even get excited about the bottom of a loaf – I think this one looks cool:

img_1379

Bottom of loaf.

img_1384

Close up.

 

The Cut:

It’s obvious in the cut that I did not get my swirl tool through the last layer, but I like the results that created:

img_1635

img_1665

It looks like the 1982 Blue Mica morphed into a bluish-purple, which is another accident that I feel really enhances the look of the soap:

img_1661

img_1669

My wire bar cutter is not long enough to cut a 5 lb mold, so I had to hand-cut 3 pieces and used my crinkle cutter for a different look:

img_1657

 

An Aside:
I had just enough leftover batter to try some sample scents from Bramble Berry – both smell wonderful:

  • Winter Grapefruit in square Celtic (Grapefruit, Juniper, Italian Lemon)
  • Christmas Spice in Oval Celtic (Orange, Lemon, Cinnamon, Mocha, Thyme, Nutmeg)

Leave a Reply

