Pink Himalayan Salt soap – 2 Batches with Impression Mat Designs: Unscented and “A Breath of Fresh Air” – Lavender, Moroccan Mint, Tea Tree, Ylang Ylang, Clary Sage & Black Tea Blend

img_0007

“A Breath of Fresh Air” soap on the left & middle; unscented soap on right.

 

First Batch:
Unscented Pink Himalayan Salt Soap
in new Impression Mat Design

img_0012

Unscented Salt bars using 2 different impression mats (new mat on right).

The only reason I made this batch of unscented is because I forgot to add my scent. The fragrance was very strong and smelled so nice sitting in the measuring cup in front of me, that I thought I had added it…and didn’t notice I missed it until I started my clean up.

 

The Plan:

Salt Master Batch Oils #1: 50 oz /1417 grams oils:
72oz/ 4.5 lbs – plus 28 oz PH salt); Makes 100 oz/ 6.25 lbs soap

9-bar mold (54 oz) with new positive impression mat. (From a 6-pack from Amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/Autumn-Carpenter-Designs-43-4715-Texture/dp/B0040UCTUK/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&qid=1476480888&sr=8-9&keywords=impression+mats) Un-mold & remove dividers in 5 hours.

6 bar mold (36 oz) with negative impression mat. Cut in 5 hours.

PH Salt Master Batch Oils: 50 oz /1417 grams oils:
(PH Salt Master Batch #1, April 29, 2016 Blog)
72 oz/4.5 lbs plus 28 oz (by weight) salt= 100 oz/ 6.25 lb batter
Oils: 50 oz/ 1415 grams
NaOH/Lye 10% SF: 7.47 oz/ 212 grams
Distilled Water & Aloe 1:1: 15 oz/425 grams (used 14.4 oz)
Pink Himalayan Salt: 28 oz

Batter/Colors/Salt:
18 oz Pink LabColor (with BB Electric Bubblegum colorant), plus 7 oz salt (25 oz total)
18 oz Aqua LabColor plus 7 oz salt
18 oz Lavender LabColor (with BA Lavender oxide), plus 7 oz salt
18 oz Green LabColor plus 7 oz salt

Soaped at 104 degrees for lye & 104 for oils. Blended to emulsification and simultaneously set up each batch with color & FO before adding salt. Did a random pour and swirl with all the batter.

 

The Unmolding & Cut:

Un-molding and cutting in 5 hours was way too long. My soaps were already cold (usually they are still warm.) I attribute this to using such low temperatures this time…but I wanted to try it out. In hind sight, I need to feel the mold – and cut when it is still slightly warm.

When cutting the soap from the 6-bar mold, half way through the cut, the soap shattered and broke. So I was left with very ragged edges. (I cleaned and shaved the edges as much as possible.)

The 9-bar mold with dividers was better, but still too cool, as the soap wanted to break off the dividers, instead of slide off.

The impression mat used in the 9-bar mold – as I have discovered in using others in this package of six – is that they may be too detailed for soap (some of the design did not stay on the soap).

img_2514

New flower impression mat

img_2516

From 9-bar mold

img_0018

I have steamed these several times, but still have some ash:

img_0019

From 6-bar mold

 

Second Batch:
A Breath of Fresh Air” PH Salt Soap with Elemental Swirl
Lavender, Moroccan Mint, Tea Tree, Ylang Ylang, Clary Sage, & Black Tea Blend
Using Diamond & Negative Flower Impression Mats

img_0014

Using Impression Mats and Elemental Swirl – dusted with lavender mica

 

 

The Plan:

PH Salt Master Batch Oils #1: 50 oz /1417 grams oils:
72oz/ 4.5 lbs – plus 28 oz PH salt); Makes 100 oz/ 6.25 lbs soap

Use 9-bar mold with diamond impression mat (as used in Orange Lemongrass Patchouli PH salt blog Dec 12, 2016). Un-mold & remove dividers in 6 hours or less.

Use 6 bar mold with flower negative impression mat (36oz). Un-mold and cut in 6 hours or less.

PH Salt Master Batch Oils: 50 oz /1417 grams oils:
(PH Salt Master Batch #1, April 29, 2016 Blog)
72 oz/4.5 lbs plus 28 oz (by weight) salt= 100 oz/ 6.25 lb batter
Oils: 50 oz/ 1415 grams
NaOH/Lye 10% SF: 7.47 oz/ 212 grams
Distilled Water & Aloe 1:1: 15 oz/425 grams
Pink Himalayan Salt: 28 oz

Scent Blend: (4.5 oz Total) 2:2:2:1:1:1
1 oz Lavender
1 oz Moroccan Mint
1 oz Tea Tree
.5 oz of Clary Sage
.5 oz Ylang Ylang
.5 oz Black Tea

I originally had planned an even distribution of colors, but adjusted the amounts as I was distributing the batter. (In hind sight, I should have also modified the salt amounts, but it didn’t seem to affect the soap):

Batter/Colors/Salt/4.5 oz EO: 
22 oz BB Radiant Plum (with BB Coral Mica); plus 7 oz salt (25 oz total)
22 oz BB Blue Raspberry (Aqua) (with TKB Coral Reef Blue); plus 7 oz salt
15 oz BB Ultraviolet blue; plus 7 oz salt
15 oz CC Yellow Locking mica; plus 7 oz salt

I had planned to soap at 120-130 degrees, but got distracted waiting on the lye to cool and ended up soaping at 109 degree Lye and 114 degree oils. I mixed all scent into the batter.

I over stick blended this a bit. I typically blend to emulsion or light trace and wait for the soap to set up to exactly what I need. But this was my second batch of the day and I knew I needed it thicker than my usual for doing In The Pot swirls, so I ended up over blending.

The batter was much thicker than I wanted, but it worked just fine. (When adding the salt, the soap tends to thin out a bit.) The first layer poured (which became the top) is an Elemental swirl with Plum & ITP Ultraviolet Blue. The second layer was Blue Raspberry (Turquoise) & ITP Yellow.

 

The Un-molding/ Cut:

I started to un-mold the 6-bar mold at 4.5 hours. It was still warm and too soft to cut, so I waited another 45 minutes. I un-molded the 9-bar at about 5 hours – it too was very soft and still a little warm. (I wore gloves.)

The soaps all turned out very faded and rough – I steamed them a couple times with not much change. So a dusted them with lavender mica – giving a bit of a shine and bringing out the diamond shape in the 9-bar mold.

img_2608

From 6-bar mold – dusted with lavender mica

img_2623

From 9-bar mold – dusted with lavender mica

 

Conclusions:

I didn’t insulate the first batch and I soaped at a much lower temperature that I usually do for salt bars. These were probably ready to un-mold & cut in 3 hours.

Since I soaped warmer and insulated the second batch, I could have easily waited my usual 6-hours to cut. (I was very cautious after the first batch.) I was pleased with the two layers of color in this batch and it was a refreshing change from the usual attempts of swirling.

After dusting  with mica, you don’t see the color difference that much on the top. And when adding the dividers in the 9-bar mold, it pulled down the blue & yellow colors , so it only looks like the very top edge is purple. Also, a lot of the yellow turned green, mixing it with the blue, but they look nice together.

I think the colors in the first batch really pop and the second batch is a bit “one note” with the mica dusting. Also, the second batch look rougher to me than the first.

 

Additional Resources:

Check out more Salt Bars on the links below:
Unscented Pink Himalayan & Dead Sea Salt Soap – with Clays & Plant Colorants, embeds on top, negative impression mat on bottom
Pink Himalayan Salt Test Soap Batch with Tamanu & Neem Oils
Eucalyptus Mint Tree with Neem Oil & tiny embeds
Grapefruit, Kumquat & Lime with tiny embeds
Orange Lemongrass Patchouli & Unscented
Lemongrass, Lavender, Rosemary, Peppermint
Peach Mango Kumquat with Aloe & Coconut water
POGY: Pineapple Orange Grapefruit Yuzu

For Salt Bar Recipes, click on the links below:
Salt Master Batch Oils #1
Salt Master Batch Oils #2 (“Everything But the Kitchen Sink”)

Leave a Reply

