Blue Man using eight sections with figure 8 Hanger Swirl

BB Blue Man seems to be the most preferred fragrance I have for men (and some women too.) It’s a duplication of the popular men’s cologne, Aquolina Blue Sugar. The base note is Black Patchouli, blended with Orange Peel, Sparkling Mandarin, Coriander Leaves, Star Anise and Venezuela Tonka. It’s slightly sweet and very masculine.

It’s also very strong and can get right to the edge of being too powerful and cloying. It discolors brown, with 4.9% Vanilla and accelerates a bit too. So I always have to deal with these issues. It seems to work well to use black and blue, with Vanilla Stabilizer in the blue. (I’ve also used brown & blue, with & without vanilla stabilizer. Without VS, the blue turns dark green, which is interesting too.)

img_0396

I wanted to make another 5 lb batch, similar to the last batch (See Dec 19, 2016 Blog), but instead of two colors in each divider poured in a wall pour simultaneously, I planned to just alternate the two colors in each section, layering them. I also thought it would be interesting to use an infinity sign or figure 8 on it’s side for the hanger swirl to create a different look.

I liked how the 1982 Blue colorant I used last time morphed to violet (which has never happened before), so I switched it out with Ultraviolet Blue to ensure the violet color.

 

The Plan:
Use a 5 lb mold with 4 sections and 2 colors in each area, with 4 oz of Blue Man FO and a horizontal figure 8 hanger swirl.

Master Batch #6 Oils: 65 oz (Makes 92 oz soap)
Oils: 65 oz/ 1843 grams
NaOH/Lye 5% SF: 9.24 oz / 262 grams
Distilled Water: (5.45 oz disc): 18 oz / 510 grams
Sodium Lactate: 18 grams
Kaolin Clay: 18 grams

Batter/Colors/FO in select sections:
Section 1:
11 oz Black (Activated Charcoal) with 1.25 oz FO
11 oz Dark Blue (BB Ultramarine Blue) with .75 oz FO & .75 oz Vanilla Stabilizer
Section 2:
11 oz Medium Blue (BB Zippy Blue) with no FO
11 oz Violet Blue (BB Ultraviolet Blue) with no FO
Section 3:
11 oz Black (Activated Charcoal) with 1.25 oz FO
11 oz Dark Blue (BB Ultramarine Blue) with .75 oz FO & .75 oz Vanilla Stabilizer
Section 4:
11 oz Violet Blue (BB Ultraviolet Blue) with no FO
11 oz TD white with no FO & .5 oz Vanilla Stabilizer

I used Vanilla Stabilizer with the dark blue – when it fails, those sections of the soap will morph to dark green. Adding a bit of Stabilizer in the white to help prevent color bleed of scent too.

Mixed 96 degree lye with 98 degree oils, poured into containers, colored, then added FO and Vanilla Stabilizer.

4 sections, alternate color poured into each (layers); then Hanger swirl horizontally.

I added the Kaolin Clay into the oils and stick blended them, which ended up causing a lot of extra air bubbles (in the past I have added the clay to the lye, which worked much better):

img_2718

Colors (clockwise): Ultraviolet Blue, Zippy Blue, TD White, Activated Charcoal, Ultramarine Blue

img_2720

After hanger swirling and adding leftover batter on top

img_2727

Top swirled with a toothpick for fine lines

img_2753

Close up

I heated up my oven to 150 degrees, turned it off and put my 5 lb mold in. After a few hours I checked on my soap and it seemed like the oven was quite cool, so I turned it on again for a few minutes, which was probably unnecessary and not a good idea. I didn’t see any issues on my soap until it had been curing for a while, then I saw some faint glycerine rivers – I had overheated it!

You can see a hint of this in the dark blue (look at the first photo of the soap laying down to see what I mean).

The Cut:

img_0182

I love the look of a “tornado” in the soap

img_0191

Stormy Seas?

img_0186

Can you see the Blue Man?

img_0188

Almost looks like Darth Vader’s Helmet

I steamed these several times, but could not get the ash off the top. Surprisingly, the black on top discolored brown.

img_0192

I ended up planing off all the brown & ash, and got some beautiful tops.

img_0400

 

Leftovers:
1 – Blue Man in Eye of Horus mold
1 – Vetiver in Victorian Heart with heart inside

In the first photo, you can see the yellow spots where there is bleed through (which may turn brown).

Leave a Reply

