Karma Sea Clay Avocado Detox Buttermilk in Drop & Hanger Swirls

I made this last summer, with less then stunning results (see July 11, 2016 Soap Challenge). But I love the scent and wanted to try my hand at it again.

img_0347

Not thrilled about this one – need more work coloring with clay

Bramble Berry Karma Essential Oil Blend: A mixture of patchouli, orange, lavendin, pine, Lemongrass, & Elemi Oils, and Gardenia extract. It is inspired by Lush’s Karma fragrance and smells deeply sensuous and alluring, with base notes of Patchouli and Orange. CP: Accelerates and discolors beige/honey brown.

 

The Plan: 62 oz total batter
Add Argan Oil to Master Batch oils
3 lb mold, 50 oz, In The Pot swirl
Pour off 12 oz for sample & guest molds

42.3 oz Oils + 1.7 oz Argon Oil (44 oz Total Oils)
Master batch #6 oils (Makes 62 oz/3.8 lb soap)
Oils: 42.3 oz/ 1199 grams
Argan Oil (3.8%): 1.7 oz/ 48 grams
NaOH/Lye 8% SF: 6.04 oz / 171 grams
Frozen Buttermilk & Distilled Water: (2.52 oz disc): 12 oz / 340 grams (6 oz of each)
Sodium Lactate: 12 grams
Kaolin Clay: 12 grams

I added Argan oil for it’s skin loving attributes: Argan has similar properties as Chia & Jojoba oil – it’s high in antioxidants, with essential fatty acids that are nourishing & moisturizing.

I also bumped up the Super Fat so this can be used as a facial soap.

50 oz Batter/Colors/ 3 oz Karma EO:
26 oz Yellow Silt Clay in water
8 oz Green Sea Clay in water
8 oz Red Brazilian Clay in water
8 oz Indigo Powder in oil

 

The Reality:
It’s always a huge bonus when things turn out better than what you planned.

Thanks to the frozen Buttermilk & distilled water, my lye-liquid was at 94 degrees for soaping with 108 degree oils. (I used a strainer to filter the lye, in case some did not dissolve in the milk.) I stick blended to emulsified and divided my batter, then colored it before adding the EO.

I expected the fast acceleration I had gotten last summer, but it didn’t happen, staying at a light trace. I did not mark down the temperatures I soaped at last time, so these lower temps may have made all the difference.

Since the batter didn’t thicken, I decided to take advantage of this and do a drop & hanger swirl (instead of ITP swirl). As I was scrambling for my gear tie for the 3 lb mold, the batter started moving a little faster. But it was just the right thickness for this swirl, which I quickly accomplished.

Top after pouring & swirling:

img_2924

I put it into the fridge (due to the Buttermilk) and worked on my guest molds.

 

The Cut:

img_0347

Fortunately the soap colors lightened up a bit.

img_0348

Conclusions:
I obviously need more practice with using clay. I think these look a little rough and got too dark. After cutting the loaf, the soap lighted up a bit, but is still too dark for me. I need to use clay a little more sparingly.

 

Guest/Sample size soaps with 1 oz Karma eo:
1 – Leaf mold square
1 – Heart in round
1 – Love square
1 – Guest Victorian Heart
1 – Rectangle with leftovers

 

4 comments on “Karma Sea Clay Avocado Detox Buttermilk in Drop & Hanger Swirls

  1. Lisa Rapp says:

    I love reading your blogs, I stopped making soap for months and moved and started again with February soap challenge in my new smaller kitchen… I have buttermilk in my freezer this morning and your post has inspired me to try to make some yummy clay soap. I have never used any brambleberry combination oils eo;s but that one sounds yummy. Karma yes sound good thank you Sly!

    Like

    • soapsbysly says:

      Lisa:
      Thank you so much for your kind comments and for reading my Blog…sometimes I’m not sure if anyone really reads them or if I should continue writing.
      I’m glad to hear that you are back to soaping and participating in the soap challenge.
      I would love to know how your Buttermilk soap turns out – I have used it 3 times and found my soaps turn out very rough & “grainy” looking using 100% Buttermilk, so that’s why I tried this batch at 50%.
      I Love the Karma EO blend, but find it a bit pricey – got my last bottle on sale, which helps.
      Sly

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lisa Rapp says:

        I had made a beautiful 100percent Buttermilk soap in August came out great very nice a cp/op faux funnel pour oo,,palm kennel oil flakes, co I think increasing the superfat and adding argon oil will make a great bar of soap, I also have some French green clay I like so I will let you know 🙂 Yes I read your posts thanks for writing them 🙂 My skin is so dry I need all the good stuff I can put in my soap!

        Like

  2. soapsbysly says:

    Lisa:
    Thank you so much for your kind comments and for reading my Blog…sometimes I’m not sure if anyone really reads them or if I should continue writing.
    I’m glad to hear that you are back to soaping and participating in the soap challenge.
    I would love to know how your Buttermilk soap turns out – I have used it 3 times and found my soaps turn out very rough & “grainy” looking using 100% Buttermilk, so that’s why I tried this batch at 50%.
    I Love the Karma EO blend, but find it a bit pricey – got my last bottle on sale, which helps.
    Sly

    Like

Leave a Reply

