Raspberry Peach layered, with Tiger Stripe Swirl

I absolutely loved the effect of two plain layers with a multi-colored tiger swirl in the middle, which I got from my last batch of Four Thieves soap (See Feb 13, 2017 Blog) and I wanted to try it again with some variations:

img_0440

Description of Bramble Berry scents used:
Sun Ripened Raspberry:  This is a basic raspberry with a “ripe” note to it – like a berry that is just ready to fall off the vine into your hand. CP: Moves very quickly.
Southern Peach:  A softer, more rounded peach with some white floral notes and supporting softer tropical notes (think guava, mango and ripe papaya) thrown in to make a complex, sweet peachy dessert scent. CP: goes yellow; accelerates a bit – soap under 120F or may separate & rice. (I found this to be an extremely light fragrance.)

The Plan:
Make 77 oz soap.
Pour off 23 oz batter to make embeds and tube molds for later projects.
The rest – 54 oz for 3 lb mold:
Over 1/3 of the batter with half the FO, in a light, pale pink.
A middle layer with a wall pour of bright colors: pink, red, orange, yellow, & mojito green.
Last layer with half the FO in a light, pale peach-yellow.

Master batch #6 oils: 55 oz Oils (Makes 77 oz /4.8 lbs soap)
MB Oils: 55 oz/ 1559grams
NaOH/Lye 5% SF: 7.82 oz / 222 grams
Distilled Water: (3.15 oz disc): 15 oz / 425 grams
Sodium Lactate: 16 grams
Kaolin Clay: 16 grams

FO’s: 2 oz Sun Ripened Raspberry & 2 oz Southern Peach. This is a lot of FO for 3 lb soap, but the peach is such a light scent, it’s almost non-existent. (I have since learned from BB that this may be due to my FO being 2 years old. Check future blogs for a sample soap with new Peach FO.)

54 Batter/Colors/FO:
1st Layer: with 2 oz Raspberry FO:
20 oz Pale pink
2nd Layer: 20 oz total (use 15 oz – 3 oz per color for layers & 1 oz for top)
4 oz BB Fuchsia Pink
4 oz CC Mojito Green
4 oz TKB #40 True Red
4 oz BB Fizzy Lemonade Yellow
4 oz BB Tangerine Wow Orange
3rd Layer: with 2 oz Peach FO:
14 oz Pale Yellow (BB Fizzy Lemonade & TD)

Top with leftover colors & swirl.

I first prepped all my colors for my main batch and embeds, mixing in a light oil.

I soaped with 98 degree Lye & 102 degree Oils; stick blended till emulsified; then poured off 20 oz and 14 oz for the 1st & 3rd layers, plus 23 oz for leftovers. Stick blended rest of batter till light trace.

The first thing I did was mix up a little of the 23 oz of batter for embeds, using Snowflake Sparkle mica, and spooned that into gun handles of 6 gun embeds to create a pearly handle. I then put the mold into the fridge.

Back to my main soap: To get a light pink, I mixed a tiny bit of CC Purple Play Date (same color as BB Radiant Plum) into 20 oz batter, then added the Raspberry FO and poured into the 3 lb mold. I then mixed up my colors for my second layer – by the time I was done doing that, the first layer was very stiff.

I tilted the mold and did 5 pours of the five colors in this order: Fuchsia Pink, Mojito Green, True Red, Fizzy Lemonade yellow, and Tangerine Wow orange. (Sadly I had stick blended this batter a touch thick, but I was still able to do a good pour). I then righted the mold and put into the fridge to stiffen up and took out my gun embeds.

For Embeds: I poured off 3 oz of embed batter and mixed Activated charcoal (in oil) into it and poured into my gun embeds. I checked my 3 lb mold, but it still needed a little more time, so I poured off another 7 oz of embed batter, adding the rest of my snowflake sparkle mica oil and TD, then poured embeds of Easter Island Heads. I also mixed up some more Mojito green and made 10 Citrus slice embeds.

Back to my main soap: I took my 3 lb mold out of the fridge and the 2nd layer was very firm, so I mixed up some Fizzy Lemonade yellow into the 14 oz for the third layer. I wasn’t satisfied with the color and added a touch of Tangerine Wow orange. The color was a perfect light peach, but when I added the Peach FO it turned back to yellow (I forgot that it discolors yellow). I may have had time to adjust the color again, but didn’t want to take any chances, as I knew the batter would accelerate – and it did. I waited almost too long before pouring, but poured the soap over a spatula into the mold, then topped with leftover colors, which had gotten very, very stiff.

img_2946

After adding colors on top of the 3 lb mold

img_2952

The swirl

img_2957

Close up

 

The Cut:

img_0440

img_0443

The bottom of the second layer got a little blurred, with not as much color definition as the rest:

img_0445

Back to the completion of Embeds and Samples:
I had a little leftover Peach FO batter, and poured it into a leaf mold with some of the other leftover colors for some contrast & highlights.

For Embeds: I continued with my embed batter, making a long tube heart with BB Gold Sparkle mica and wide heart tube with Purple Play Date Plum. Unfortunately, I ran out of batter with 1.5 inches to go on the wide heart, so I just used some leftover true red from my loaf and mixed in plum (which created a wonderfully, deep red/cranberry color).

I had so many colors from all these projects, that I later ended up finding some white (from the Easter Island Heads) and some Silver (from the pearl handles). If I didn’t have so much going on, I could have used that for the wide heart tube (but then I wouldn’t have discovered such a lovely red color). I took these leftovers and colored them Plum and tried out a new sample fragrance I just got: Fruity Fusion, (adding some leftover colors from the 2nd layer of the loaf too).

Embeds, Tube molds, & Leftover Batter:
6 – guns: white handles, black guns (.5 x6= 3 oz batter)
9 – Easter Island Heads – white/cream (.8×9=7.2 oz batter)
1 – skinny long heart tube in BB Gold Sparkle mica (5.5 oz)
1 – wide heart tube in CC Purple Play Date Plum (4.5 oz)
10 – Citrus slices in Mojito green (2.3 oz)
1 – Southern Peach in guest square Leaf (3 oz)
1 – Fruity Fusion in Flur-de-Lis guest sample (3 oz)

 

Conclusions:
Raspberry Peach: I really like the technique I used in the 3 lb mold – I think it is especially great with fragrances that accelerate trace. And putting the mold into the fridge after pouring the second layer really helped it thicken quicker.

But I have a couple issues: I am not pleased with the tiger stripes getting so muddied on the bottom. And by the time I can garnish the top with left over colors (from the second layer), the batter is very stiff. A couple solutions would be to color the top with mica oils or to just leave plain and scallop it. I would welcome any other suggestions.

Embeds: I used to make embed toppers with MP soap – it is much quicker and can be more detailed. Plus the option of using clear soap for a transparent look is nice. However, even living in the high desert of Colorado, I have found Low Sweat MP to perspire after wrapping tightly in plastic. And have experienced color bleed, when using non-bleeding color (especially red and black colors).

I wasn’t happy with the color of my citrus slice embeds – I used too much green mica and they got too dark. However they lightened up a bit in curing, so they still may work for a future project (stay tuned!)

Also, I had seen a CP heart tube mold made with Gold Sparkle mica and the gold and sparkle really came through. I contacted the soaper and found out it indeed made it through the CP process, so I wanted to give this a try. However, my heart tube mold came out a beige color, with no gold or sparkle coming through. So this was a fail. I can attempt this again with much, much more mica and see if that makes a difference.

Leave a Reply

