Juicy Watermelon with Poppy Seeds in coconut water

Why Coconut Water? Coconut Water has B-complex vitamins such as riboflavin, niacin, thiamin, pyridoxine, and folate to help nourish and hydrate skin and hair. It also contains minerals like calcium, iron, manganese, magnesium, and zinc. The lauric acid gives cold process soap extra hardness and promotes a luxuriously fluffy lather. Research studies suggest that cytokinins in coconut water was found to have significant anti-aging and anti-carcinogenic effects.

img_0428

Nature’s Garden Fragrance Description:
Pink Watermelon: A fresh, crisp watermelon beginning with top notes of watermelon and strawberry; followed by middle notes of jasmine, rose, and green notes; sitting on base notes of cassis, oakmoss, white woods, and vanilla. CP: No A, R, D. (No acceleration, no ricing, no separation, no discoloration. .1% Vanilla.) Good scent retention. 2 reviews: behaved badly; seized (other reviewers had no issues).

 

The Plan:
Make 62 oz of soap, pour off 10 oz for samples and embeds (for future projects).
Use 52 oz for 3 lb mold

Loosely following the May 19, 2016 Soap Queen Tutorial for Watermelon soap. I resized the recipe, incorporated different colors, (as I didn’t have the exact colors), and utilized my Master Batch oils recipe, instead of the SQ one (which looks really nice).

I also decreased the green rind by about 1 oz and the layer of white by about 2.4 oz, as they both seemed a bit big.

Master batch #6 oils: 44 oz Oils (Makes 62 oz soap)
MB Oils: 44 oz/ 1247 grams
NaOH/ Lye 5% SF: 6.26 oz / 178 grams
Frozen Coconut Water: (2.52 oz disc): 12 oz / 340 grams
Sodium Lactate: 12 grams
Kaolin Clay: 12 grams

Batter/Color/FO (3 oz):
1st Layer (rind):
7 oz BB Chrome green & Hydrated Chrome oxide (dark green) 8 ml FO
7 oz CC Mojito Green (light green) 8 ml FO
2nd Layer:
5 oz TD white 5 ml FO
3rd Layer:
33 oz TKB #27 Red & TKB Cosmic Carolyn (dark pink) remaining FO
2 Teaspoons Poppy Seeds (about 8-9 grams)

Some info on Poppy Seeds: They add a delightful visual addition to soaps. Some say it’s a comforting home remedy for dry and itchy skin. Poppy seeds are a large exfoliant, used for the body (not face) and should be added to soap at trace. (Exfoliation is key to maintaining smooth, soft and healthy skin. The process of exfoliating involves using a “scrubby” material coupled with manual scrubbing to remove dead skin. Removing dead skin allows moisturizer and other skin care products to absorb better. Removing dead skin also create a more even and radiant skin tone.)

I was a little suspicious of this fragrance, as it was a new one to me and even though it got a lot of good reviews, there was one that said it behaved badly and one that said it seized.  I decided to be cautious and soap at a lower temperature.

I used frozen Coconut water, with the lye at 98 degrees and oils at 108 degrees – but I should have been patient (waiting longer) and soaped at even lower temperatures.

I stick blended past emulsified – just before light trace, and poured off the batter into separate containers for each layer (plus 10 oz for embeds for future projects). I colored the greens first and they were a bit thin, so I stick blended them a little more.

I added about 8 ml of FO to the 3 oz of each green and they both riced – however it wasn’t a complete ricing, more like someone threw in several rice grains that were stuck together. I stick blended this out in the light green (with my mini mixer) and was able to blend out by hand in the dark green. Then it started to accelerate, so I alternately poured my greens and tried to combine them a bit with a chop stick, but they were already too thick.

I then mixed up the white layer, which was a touch thin. I added about 5 ml of FO and poured it in the mold before waiting for the ricing or acceleration. It seemed to be okay in the mold and firmed up well.

I prepared the next layer with my color and added the poppy seeds. The color looked spot-on for watermelon. I added the rest of the FO and stirred, stirred, stirred the ricing out, then poured it into the mold.

I tried scalloping the top a bit, but it was too thin. I waited and tried again several times. It seemed like it went from too thin to too thick, so I just added some iridescent glitter on top:

img_2985

Top of loaf – got a little heavy-handed with the glitter

 

The Cut:

You can see how much the pink color changed (compared to the top of loaf above):

img_0427

img_0429

 

Conclusions:
This was a fun, quick soap to make. I’m not sure about the fragrance – I find it to be very perfumey, not what I was expecting or wanting, and not the deep, watermelon scent I was hoping for. The main body of the soap also lightened up a bit, so it doesn’t have that perfect watermelon color to it any more.

 

 

Leave a Reply

