Red Berry Rhubarb in drop swirl with berries & “rhubarb” on top

IMG_1274

Description of Bramble Berry Red Berry Rhubarb: A tantalizing blend of bursting red berries and crisp, tart rhubarb. This fragrance features opening notes of tart cranberry, tangy rhubarb and sweet Macintosh Apple. Mid notes of lemon zest and juicy pineapple are rounded out with a sweet base of Mirabelle Plum, peach nectar and red currant. CP: NO R, D or A.

 

The Plan:
45.5 oz of of soap; drop swirl; berry & “rhubarb” embeds on top (6.5 oz) = 52 oz Total.
(15 oz of batter poured off for making embeds for future projects.)

Master batch #7 oils: 44 oz Oils (Makes 62 oz soap)
Oils: 44 oz/ 1247 grams
NaOH/ Lye 5% SF: 6.27 oz / 178 grams
Distilled Water: (2.52 oz / 17.35% discount): 12 oz / 340 grams
Sodium Lactate: 12 grams
Kaolin Clay: 12 grams
Chamomile Extract (1%): 12 grams

Batter/Color/FO 3 oz
30 oz TD white
4 oz BB Ultramarine Violet & TKB Magic Violet (ran out of Ultramarine Violet)
4 oz BB Ultraviolet Blue
4 oz TKB #40 True red
4 oz TKB #27 Off specs Red (dark pink)
Crescent moon red “rhubarb” embed
Berry Embeds on top (used 36, 4 per bar)

 

The Reality:
Soaped at 104 degrees Lye and 98 degrees oils; stick blended to emulsified and divided out all the batter. I made a variety of embeds for future projects, while waiting for the batter to come to the exact consistency that I wanted for my drop swirls.

I poured most of the white base, then drop swirled the other colors in, topping off with more white batter.

I had marked off 9 bars on each side of the silicone mold so that I could place my berry embeds so that they wouldn’t be cut into (which happened to my Berry Smoothie, blog can be seen here).

I first put down my “rhubarb,” a red crescent moon tube. The batter was a bit too thin, and 3/4 of it sank into the soap. I tried to rescue it to no avail (I didn’t want to mess up my design too much.) So I held off adding my berries for a few minutes until the soap thickened more.

After adding the berries, I used a new powder spray bottle to “spritz” on some fine iridescent glitter. (Purchased at Qosmedix here)  I like this applicator in that I can easily direct the spray, getting it where I want it to go, without excess mess everywhere. But I need to try it again with some other mica’s, as it was difficult to get it to come out of the bottle. (I may just need to fill the bottle more.)

The stick of “rhubarb” on the upper part of the mold looks different:

IMG_3294

You can see the marks on the mold for each bar cut

Even though the FO description says no discolor, the batter got a dark cream in spite of adding lots of Titanium Dioxide:

IMG_3290

Close up – with fine iridescent glitter added

 

The Cut:

IMG_1275

IMG_1278

I think these colors make this look patriotic:

IMG_1284

 

Conclusions:
I love, love, love this scent – my new favorite! It’s very well behaved, and although it says no discolor, the batter did turn a dark cream color. After adding a lot of titanium dioxide to whiten it, the soap is still ivory – white would have made it pop more. (I will add this  information on the fragrance to my notes and incorporate the discolor more in the next batch.)

I hadn’t done a straight drop swirl in ages, and now I know why – I just don’t find it that compelling. Having less white and more color or hanger swirling would have made this more appealing.

Even though there are only half the amount of berries in this batch, compared to Berry Smoothie (see April 3, 2017 Blog here), I am happy that they are not cut up when slicing the bars and like this look better (and no berry pieces falling off). I’m unsure of the look of the “rhubarb” inside and on top. Any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

