Sweet Meyer Lemon Black Berry Sage in drop & hanger swirls

This fragrance combo used to be a staple, but I think it’s been over a year since I’ve made it. One reason is that I dropped my 16 oz bottle of Sweet Meyer Lemon on the concrete basement floor. The basement smelled really wonderful for quite some time, but I was so disappointed with my loss, that I wanted to turn “lemons into lemonade” and use some of the other lemon fragrances I had ignored – because why reach for any other lemon, when you have Sweet Meyer Lemon? Yes, it’s that good!

I just love doing drop & hanger swirls – every soap looks so unique. If I haven’t done this technique in a while (like now) I get withdrawal symptoms! So time for some swirling!!

IMG_1428

Description of Bramble Berry Scents:
Sweet Meyer Lemon: Think of a lush, Caribbean garden bursting with the aroma of sweet lemons, horned melons, succulent kiwis, and ripe pineapple wedges. Sweet tropical florals complete this island wonder. CP: Discolors tan, some slight acceleration.
Blackberry Sage Cybilla: The perfect blend of juicy blackberries tempered with sage. Sweet & succulent. CP: No D, A, R.
Blackberry Cybilla: Juicy, sweet blackberries off the vine. CP: No A or R, discolors gold, .5% Vanilla. (In my experience, it turns very green, but I prefer it BB Sage, as it has more berry scent).

 

The Plan:
Use 3 lb silicone mold with 49 oz of soap + 5 oz Embeds.
Top with lemon slice embed and 2 blackberry embeds.
1:1 Sweet Meyer Lemon & Blackberry Sage FO’s – 1.5 oz each, 3 oz total.

Master batch #7 oils: 38 oz Oils (Makes 54 oz soap)
MB Oils: 38 oz/ 1077 grams
NaOH/ Lye 5% SF: 5.42 oz / 154 grams
Distilled Water: (1.54 oz disc, 12.3%): 11 oz / 312 grams
Sodium Lactate: 11 grams
Kaolin Clay: 11 grams
Avocado Extract (1%): 11 grams
Chamomile Extract (1%): 11 grams

Batter/Colors/FO:
24 oz BB Fizzy Lemonade (.9 oz SML & .6 BBS FO)
5 oz BB Tangerine Wow (.3 oz SML FO)
5 oz BB Kermit Green (.3 oz BBS FO)
5 oz BB Ultraviolet Blue (.3 oz BBS FO)
5 oz BB Ultramarine Violet (.3 oz BBS FO)
5 oz CC Purple Play Date (Plum) (.3 oz SML FO)

Pour yellow batter into mold.
Drop swirl all other colors – not as deep as usual – try to drop so it only goes half way down.
Hanger swirl horizontally in figure 8, then vertically from bottom to top, starting in the center.

Put leftover batter in 2 Victorian Heart molds.

 

The Reality:
The SM Lemon FO tipped over and leaked all over the bag I had my supplies in. Turns out, even though it’s a new bottle, the cap was defective and did not go on straight or seal. (Used the BBS cap after finishing it and it worked fine.)

I ran out of Blackberry Sage after pouring 1 oz (even though my inventory said I had 2.5 oz), so I used .5 oz of Blackberry Cybillia,  (and with such a small amount I didn’t get the greening effect.)

Soaped at 96 degree Lye and 95 degree oils. With these low temperatures I did not experience any acceleration.

Poured my base color of yellow, then dropped in the other colors and hanger swirled – horizontally, then vertically from the center out.

Topped with rows of colors, then a bit of a zig-zag Taiwan swirl:

IMG_3356

Top swirled

IMG_3370

Close up

The top was so beautiful I felt like it was a bit crazy to add embeds, but here it is with fine iridescent glitter too:

IMG_3404

Spaced the embeds between the lines on the mold where the slices will be cut.

 

The Cut:

IMG_1426

In spite of the embeds on top, they still look yummy – especially the berries, which really pop.

IMG_1436

IMG_1445

The soap looks so fun, it was difficult to choose just a few photos.

I put the leftovers into two Victorian Heart molds, one with an added heart embed in the middle, but now I can’t remember which one in went into! Guess it will be a surprise:

 

Conclusions:
I’m not sure why I’ve been on such an embed kick lately – I feel like the top of this soap was so beautiful without them. I think the toppers make the soap look a little clunky (making the round soap embeds thinner would help prevent some of this). And they are slightly more difficult to package too. But I do think they add a fun element to the soaps. (I have made so many embeds that I will use them in several more projects.)

This scent combo is wonderful, and I’m so glad I made it again.

Leave a Reply

